Film Reviews, Short Review

Le Locataire [The Tenant] (1976)

3.5/4

The Tenant resonated with me. Why? It’s a film about the immigrant experience, an experience I know quite well. Granted, what I have experienced as an immigrant is miniscule compared to the treatment Polanski’s Trelkovsky undergoes here – I truly can’t complain all too much about how Britain has treated me in my time here – though I still emphasise with the experience Polanski is attempting to express here, he hits those same feelings of alienation and an inability to communicate meaningfully with those around you. Normally when a director casts himself in lead role we all roll our eyes collectively, but truthfully Polanski is absolutely the best option here. A superbly dark, insane and very bleakly funny film.

Standard

Leave a Reply

